Are you or a loved one wondering what the cost of medical marijuana in Florida is? This guide will help you determine the costs associated with the following:
- Doctor’s visit(s)
- Department of Health fees
- Dispensary expenses
- and more!
Your medical insurance will not cover the costs of getting started with medical marijuana or your future treatments. Find out how much you’ll need to budget for the relief you need in this guide.
So how much does medical marijuana cost in Florida?
In this guide, we’ll break down all the costs of medical marijuana for Florida residents from start to finish so you can budget for the relief you need.
The Medical Marijuana Cost in Florida
So how much is a medical marijuana card in Florida? From state fees to doctor visit expenses, here’s everything you need to know about how much it will cost to start medical marijuana treatments in Florida:
From state fees to doctor visit expenses, here’s everything you need to know about how much it will cost to start medical marijuana treatments in Florida:
The Doctor Recommendation Office Visit
Cost: $199 for the initial recommendation and $179 for the renewal recommendation.
What it covers:
The Florida Department of Health requires patients to be certified for the use of medical marijuana by a state-approved ordering physician registered with the Florida Office of Medical Marijuana Use.
Your general physician may not be qualified to recommend a medical marijuana prescription, so you’ll need to search specifically for medical marijuana doctors in your area.
Qualifying doctors must have completed a 2-hour course and examination offered by the Florida Medical Association or Florida Osteopathic Medical Association, depending on their license type.
Suppose your physician determines that your medical condition meets the requirements set forth by the FL Department of Health for the use of medical marijuana. In that case, you could have your recommendation on your first visit.
The doctor’s price of an office visit varies depending on location and is not covered by your medical insurance.
A recommendation visit will cost around $199 for new medical marijuana patients.
A “recommendation” is similar to a prescription, but because marijuana is still illegal under federal law, only medical marijuana recommendations are given.
Your physician will review your symptoms and establish a comprehensive treatment plan using the best form and type of medical marijuana for your condition.
After receiving your Florida Medical Marijuana recommendation, your order will be entered into the State’s Office of Medical Marijuana Use patient registry (see associated costs below). The order will specify the types of Medical Marijuana you can purchase, your recommended daily dose, and the number of days your order will be active.
You’ll then be able to purchase your medical marijuana from one of Florida’s dispensaries, but you’ll have to get into the Registry first and pay the associated costs.
The Florida Registration Fee
How Much is a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida?
Patients can expect to pay a $75 fee for their medical marijuana card that will be issued by the Florida Department of Health.
What this covers:
All medical marijuana patients in Florida must be registered with The Medical Marijuana Use Registry.
According to the Florida Department of Health, the Registry is a secure online database for registering medical marijuana physicians and qualified patients. It’s accessible to ordering physicians, law enforcement, dispensing organization staff, and Office of Medical Marijuana Use employees.
When officially registered with the state, you’ll receive a medical marijuana ID card with your photo, just like a driver’s license.
You’ll need to fill out a simple, one-page Medical Marijuana Use Registry Patient ID Card Application to receive this.
The Department of Health charges a $75 processing fee for your application, and this fee also adds you to the state Registry and covers the cost of your ID card.
This fee can be paid by check to the Department of Health, or the application and payment can be completed online (with a $2.75 online processing fee). You’ll also need to have a passport-type photo available for your medical marijuana ID card, which may cost extra for you to obtain if you don’t already have one. The photo must be taken within the last 90 days. Some medical marijuana physicians, like THC Physicians, provide this in your initial doctor’s visit.
Medical Marijuana Product Costs
Cost: $20 to $300+
What it covers:
Your physician will recommend the best medical marijuana delivery option or a combination of:
- Oral administration via capsules, concentrates, and oils.
- Inhalation using a vaporizer and cartridges or a pre-filled vaporizer pen.
- Topical relief with infused lotions, creams, and balms.
- CBD and THC blends
Each medical marijuana delivery option comes at a different price point depending on a number of factors including quality, competition, quantity, etc.
Once you have your ID card, you’ll be allowed to fill your order by visiting a state-licensed dispensary.
Some of the most popular Florida Medical Marijuana dispensing organizations are:
If you don’t have a close treatment center in your area, you can contact one nearby that delivers.
Price Of Medical Marijuana In Florida
While prices will differ at dispensaries, here’s a ballpark average of the most common medical marijuana options:
- Capsules of extracted cannabis oil provide reliable, consistent, and discrete dosing that releases over a more extended period. Each capsule will contain 10 to 25mg of THC, CBD, or a hybrid. Bottles of capsules range between $40 and $120+.
- Oils (or tinctures) made from extracted cannabis come in liquid form. The small bottles have an easy-to-use dropper to allow for accurate dosing either under your tongue or added to your food and drinks. Depending on the concentration, strain, and size of the bottle, one may cost between $40 and $200+.
- Pre-filled vaporizer pens and cartridges contain extracted cannabis oil. Vaporizer pens heat up the oil in the cartridge enough to release cannabinoids without the carcinogens of burning the material so you inhale vapor instead of smoke. Pre-filled pens can run between $30 and $90+ depending on the strain and concentration.
- If you choose to buy your own vaporizer to use with separate pre-filled cartridges, these cost between $100 and $300+. Cartridges will run around $15 to $60,+ depending on the strain and amount.
- Flower comes in a variety of types, strains and potencies and can range anywhere between $15 and $60+ for ¼ ounce.
- Edibles come in different types, like chocolates, cookies, brownies, gummies and chews. These will range in price greatly, based on ingredients, potency and strain. In general, you can expect to pay around $25 for 100mg of THC (which they often consider to be 10 doses).
THC Physicians works closely with Curaleaf, formally known as Modern Health Concepts. Curaleaf was the first Medical Marijuana Treatment Center in South Florida.
Curaleaf has 50 locations throughout the state of Florida, so you’re likely not far from being able to use a Curaleaf dispensary. For a list of locations, click here.
The Medical Marijuana Renewal Fee
What this covers:
Your medical card will be good for one year.
To keep your Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card active, you’ll need to submit a renewal application every year to the Department of Health 45 days before your current ID card’s expiration date. You can find this date printed on the front of your identification card. You’ll also need to revisit the doctor every 7 months (we’ll get to that next).
You’ll have to fill out the application and submit another $2.75 processing fee to the Florida Department of Health.
Cost: Between $75 and $200+
What this covers:
The Florida Department of Health requires patients to be certified for the use of medical marijuana every 210 days or seven months.
Certification requires patients to have an in-person visit with a physician for a medical evaluation and medical marijuana recommendation.
Follow-up visits are scheduled on a per-patient basis as needed. Most patients will need at least one follow-up visit per year.
Regarding smokeable refills, the maximum quantity of medical marijuana each patient can purchase is 2.5 ounces in any 35 day period,
You must receive an additional recommendation from your physician after your order has been exhausted. THC Physicians allows for telemedicine visits with physicians for follow-up visits.
Total Potential Medical Marijuana Cost in Florida
As we’ve outlined here, many different factors contribute to the total cost of signing up for medical marijuana treatment in Florida.
So here’s a grand rundown of all the expenses we discussed:
- Initial physician visit for the recommendation: $250+
- FL Registration Fee: $75
- Renewal Fee: $75
- First treatment: $20 to $300+
- Delivery fee (if applicable): $25
- Follow-up visit: $75 to $200+
- Total Cost for the First Year: $245 to $575+
Remember, these prices are just general estimates and averages. The actual prices in your area may be higher or lower depending on the strains, dosage amounts, doctor fees, and more.
How to Get Started
We’ll take care of the application and your identification photo at the time of your initial visit.
Costs for medical marijuana ID card certifications start at $195 (but vary by location), including your referral visit and registration fee.
You can even pre-register for a Florida medical marijuana evaluation with THC Physicians. Simply fill out this form and we’ll contact you to schedule a visit at one of our convenient Florida Medical Marijuana doctors offices.
By completing this form online, you’ll spend less time filling out paperwork in the office and more time with your doctor.
Don’t delay the relief you need — start your medical marijuana treatment plan today.