Tierra Healthcare is a medical practice that provides physician recommendations for the use of medical marijuana for qualifying patients. It is the sole responsibility of the patient to follow all applicable Florida laws related to the use of medical marijuana.
Below are links providing you with relevant Florida Medical Marijuana resources. If you feel that we are missing information, please contact Tierra Healthcare Concepts by clicking here.
Patients using medical marijuana are RESTRICTED from the following:
Common Medical Conditions
Recent Industry News
The Office of Compassionate Use is charged with writing and implement the department’s rules for medical cannabis, overseeing the statewide Medical Marijuana Use Registry, and licensing seven Florida businesses to cultivate, process, and dispense medical cannabis to qualified patients.
Florida Medical Marijuana Legalization, Amendment 2, (2016)
Medical Marijuana FAQ’s
No, THC is a specialty medical practice. We are not a contracted provider for Medicare, Medicaid, or any other health or medical insurance plan. We accept cash, check, or credit card payments only. Payment is due at the time of service.
No, your medical marijuana card will be issued by the department of health. We will provide you with the application needed to submit along with your application
Yes, if the physician concludes that your medical condition meets the requirements set forth by the Florida department of health.
$195 certification visit – the Florida department of health requires patients to be certified for the use of medical marijuana every 210 days (7 months). If you have a qualifying medical condition, your initial visit will include certification and you will be required to complete a certification visit every 7 months thereafter.
Follow up visits are scheduled on a per-patient basis as needed. Most patients will need at least one follow-up visit per year.
Your medical marijuana card will be good for one year. You will be required to submit a renewal application to the medical marijuana use registry, along with the $75 fee prior to the expiration of your card.
The Florida department of health requires patients to be certified for the use of medical marijuana at least every 210 days (7 months). Certification requires an in-person visit with the physician and includes a medical evaluation and medical marijuana recommendation.
The department of health requires all patients to complete the “medical marijuana use registry patient id card application”. This is a simple one-page application that we provide for you at the time of your certification visit. The department of health charges a $75 processing fee and requires you to submit a passport photo with the application. We’ll provide you with both the application and the passport photo at the time of your initial visit.
You’ll get your medical marijuana from a dispensary. Currently, there are 7 licensed medical marijuana dispensaries in Florida. We work with modern health concepts. They are based out of Miami and will deliver to your home for free if you live in Dade county. If you live within four hours of Dade county, they will deliver to your home for a fee of $25. This is subject to change.
The maximum quantity that we can order for each patient is a seventy (70) day supply. The physician may authorize a maximum of two additional seventy (70) day supply refills.
You may be eligible for medical marijuana if you have been diagnosed with one or more of the following severe debilitating or life threatening conditions: cancer, HIV infection or AIDS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis, spinal cord injury with spasticity, epilepsy, inflammatory bowel disease, neuropathy, Huntington’s disease, post-traumatic stress disorder, chronic pain (as defined by 10 NYCRR §1004.2(a)(8)(xi)), pain that degrades health and functional capability as an alternative to opioid use or substance use disorder. The severe debilitating or life-threatening condition must also be accompanied by one or more of the following associated or complicating conditions: cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, or severe or persistent muscle spasms, PTSD or opioid use disorder.
Taking the first steps to get medical marijuana entails preregistering on the THC Physicians website to see if you may qualify.
The Commissioner must approve any form of medical marijuana. Approved forms include, but are not limited to: solid or semi-solid dosage forms (such as capsules, tablets, and lozenges), metered liquid or oil preparations (for vaporization or oral administration), metered ground plant preparations, and topicals and transdermal patches. Under the law, smoking is not permitted and the regulations prohibit edibles. Please contact the registered organization directly to find out more about the products they have available.
The patient’s certifying practitioner must include the following information on the patient’s certification: the authorized brand and form of the approved medical marijuana, the administration method, and any limitations on the use of approved medical marijuana product. If a practitioner has a recommendation regarding dosage, it should also be included on the certification, although a recommendation on dosage is not required. Moreover, the total amount of product that may be dispensed may not exceed a thirty-day supply.
A certified patient may receive medical marijuana products from any dispensing facility of any Registered Organization in New York State. For a list of locations in New York, please visit: Registered Organizations
No. Please contact the registered organization directly to learn more about the products they have available. Contact information may be found here: Registered Organizations Registered organizations must make available at least one brand that has an equal ratio of THC to CBD, and one brand with a low-THC-high-CBD ratio). Each Registered Organization will also offer other products that have varying ratios of THC to CBD.
The hours of operation for the dispensing facilities vary. Please contact or review the websites of the Registered Organizations for their dispensing facilities’ hours of operation by clicking here: Registered Organizations.
Registered Organizations may dispense up to a 30-day supply of medical marijuana to a certified patient or designated caregiver, pursuant to any recommendations or limitations made by the practitioner on the certification. Registered Organizations report their medical marijuana dispensing to the New York State Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) database, so that prescribers may review their patients’ controlled substance histories and make informed treatment decisions.
Work with your certifying practitioner or a dispensing facility pharmacist to determine if a change in product, change in dose, or discontinuation of the product is appropriate.
If you are experiencing a life-threatening emergency, call 911 or go to an emergency room immediately. If you believe you are experiencing an adverse event that is not life-threatening from the approved medical marijuana product, contact your practitioner.
Certified patients or their designated caregivers should dispose of expired or unwanted medical marijuana products by adding water to the medical marijuana and then dirt, coffee grounds, ashes or another undesirable substance, prior to disposal in the trash, to avoid accidental or intentional misuse of the product.
During the patient registration process, a certified patient may designate up to two (2) caregivers who may obtain medical marijuana on his or her behalf. After the patient’s application for registration is approved, the designated caregiver(s) must also register with the Department. Detailed information on designating and becoming a caregiver is available here: Information for Patients
Registered organizations may also offer a delivery service. Please contact the registered organizations directly to determine if delivery services are offered in your area.
No. Only certified patients with a New York State registry identification card may purchase approved medical marijuana products in New York State.
Do I Qualify?
It’s never been easier to find out if you qualify for a medical marijuana card. Get started quickly and easily by answering a few questions now.